In the Life

My Story

In the name of Allah. My name is Zulhijja. I am from Afghanistan. I live in Kandahar province. I was born in 1992 in Kandahar city. Kandahar is a very good city. People are very kind and help and work with each other. It has a lot of mountains and gardens and it is very beautiful because there are a lot of trees and good weather.

My favourite foods are vegetables and fruits like strawberries, bananas, apples, watermelon. My hobbies are tailoring, sewing, studying and reading magazines.

I love my family. I have 5 sisters and 1 brother. They are all kind and educated people.

In my family when I was small girl I was a very noisy girl.
My whole family loved me. I liked to play with dangerous things. Sometimes I enjoyed myself.

When I was very small, about 7 or 8 years old, my sister was always busy tailoring and one day when she was doing other work and not watching me, I cut my left hand with scissors while I was trying to cut clothes. My mum told me it was a very dangerous time. I went to hospital and for 2 months my hand was very bad and I couldn’t do anything with my hand.

I was very noisy until I was 12 years old. My mum told me, “When you were a small girl, you were very kind and very dangerous.”

We had a house in Karachi. I can’t remember it. In 2001 we migrated to Pakistan. We didn’t have a comfortable life until 2003. My father was a businessman and he could not improve himself because he didn’t have enough money to run his business.

I have one brother. All of the money was spent on his education so we didn’t have money for anything else. After that we came back to Kandahar and now we are all very happy with our lives.

I want to get more education and get more things in my life. I want to be a journalist so I plan to go to journalism school in Kabul but I don’t know when that will be possible.

Zulhijja